Playlist 01.04.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 01.04.2019

On this week's programme:

Dobranotch are a Russian brass-driven band with a Gypsy, Balkan and Russian repertoire.

The Minyo Crusaders are a Japanese band doing an irresistible line in cumbia and reggae.

Fémina are an female Argentinian trio produced by Quantic, with their fan, Iggy Pop, on board.

Ziminino are Rio de Janeiro artist Ricô Santana with producers Rafa Dias and Boima Tucker.

Saulo Duarte is a guitarist/singer from the north of Brazil, now resident in São Paulo.

Ekiti Sound is producer/vocalist Leke aka CHiF, from Lagos based in London.

DJ Panko, onetime member of Ojos de Brujo, remixes some of Palenque’s Afro-Colombian recordings.

Ifriqiyya Electrique transform the Banga ceremonies from southern Tunisia into a “post-industrial ritual”.

Black Flower are a Brussels five-piece with Afro-funk and Ethio-groove influences.

Africa Express have just recorded in Johannesburg, with an album to come in the summer.

The reggae session includes Jahcoustix, aka Dominik Haas, on his eighth album, Suriname native, Samora, and Ghanaian afro-roots ambassador, Rocky Dawuni.

The veteran Jamaican Inna de Yard collective remake some classic reggae hits of yesteryear.

[dunkelbunt] is a German producer with a transglobal agenda.

Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla and Allison Russell sing powerful songs rooted in the painful history of the US black experience.

Assu is a trio singing and playing the joiks of the Scandinavian Sami community.

Pauanne are a Finnish band drawing on archive recordings from the Finnish literature society.

The Gloaming are both adventurous and forward-looking, and also deeply rooted in Irish tradition.

Refugees For Refugees, with members from Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, Tibet and more, launch their second album.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday April 1st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Dobranotch: “Ya Rayah”.

2.    Dobranotch: “Son”.  Both from “Mercedes Kolo” (CPL-Music 2019).

3.    Minyo Crusaders: “Mamurogawa Ondo”. From “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos 2019).

4.    Fémina feat. Iggy Pop: “Resist”. From “Perlas & Conchas” (Fémina 2019).

5.    Ziminino: “When The Buildings Fall”. From “Zimino” (INTL BLK 2019).

6.    Saulo Duarte: “As Luzes Da Cidade”. From “Avante Delírio” (Sterns 2019).

7.    Ekiti Sound: “Testify”. From “Abeg No Vex” (Crammed 2019).

8.    DJ Panko: “Aguata” remix. From “Panko Pa Palenque” (Palenque 2019).

9.    Ifriqiyya Electrique: “Wa Salaat Alih Hannabee Mohammad”.

10.  Ifriqiyya Electrique: “Nafta Naghara”.  Both from “Laylet El Booree” (Glitterbeat 2019).

11.  Black Flower: “Ankor Was”. From “Future Flora” (Sdban Ultra 2019).

12.  Africa Express feat. Phuzekhemisi, Gruff Rhys, Muzi, BCUC: “Vessels”. From the EP “Molo” (Africa Express 2019).

13.  Jahcoustix: “Simplicity”. From “Reunion” (Oneness 2019).

14.  Samora: “The Fly & The Spida”. From “Moengo” (Samora 2019).

15.  Rocky Dawuni: “Kyenkyen Bi Adi Mawu”. From “Beats Of Zion” (Aquarian 2019).

16.  The Viceroys: “Ya Ho”. From “Inna De Yard” (Wagram/Chapter Two 2019).

17.  [dunkelbunt] feat. Anuradha Genrich: “Velavan”. Single release ([dunkelbunt] 2019).

18.  Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Mama’s Cryin’ Long”. From “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways 2019).

19.  Áššu - Ulla Pirttijärvi, Harald Skullerud, Olav Torget: “Saivui”. From “Áššu” (Bafe’s Factory/Nordic Notes 2019).

20.  Pauanne: “Rauta”. From “Pauanne” (Nordic Notes 2019).

21.  The Gloaming: “Meáchan Rudaí”. From “The Gloaming 3” (Real World 2019).

22.  Refugees For Refugees: “Tonshak”. From “Amina” (Muziekpublique 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Ziminino: “Ziminino” (INTL BLK).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. The Gloaming: “The Gloaming 3” (Real World).


5. Las Hermanas Caronni: “Santa Plastica” (Les Grands Fleuves).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Bâton Bleu: “Weird and Wonderful Tales” (Dixiefrog).


8. Jahcoustix: “Reunion” (Oneness Records).     


9. Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni ba: “Miri” (Out Here).


10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Minyo Crusaders: “Otemoyan”. From “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).

2.  Jahcoustix: “Simplicity”. From “Reunion” (Oneness Records).


3.  [dunkelbunt] feat. Anuradha Genrich: “Velavan”. Single release ([dunkelbunt].

4.  Africa Express feat. Phuzekhemisi, Gruff Rhys, Muzi, BCUC: “Vessels”. From the EP “Molo” (Africa Express).

5.  Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Mama’s Cryin’ Long”. From “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu