Playlist 29.04.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 29.04.2019

On this week's programme:

Analog Africa have a new compilation of vintage northern Brazilian sounds, upcoming in June.

Dona Onete is the Belem queen of carimbo, now almost 80 years old.

Saulo Duarte is singer and guitarist, also from northern Brazil but now residing in Sao Paulo.

Sociedade Recreativa are the combination of US DJ Maga Bo with the North-Eastern Brazilian trio Forró de Rebeca.

Minyo Crusaders are on a mostly Brazilian label, but are in fact Japanese.

Le Vent du Nord and De Temps Antan are two of the leading trad Quebecois bands, the latter having just visited Dublin.

Söndörgö are a Hungarian family band of virtuoso multi-instrumentalists.

Aziz Sahmaoui is Moroccan-born ngoni and gimbri musician with a distinguished history with Orchestra National de Barbès and Joe Zawinul.

Hama Sankaré is Malian percussionist and singer, previously sideman to Ali Farka Touré.

BCUC are the Soweto collective mixing soul, township and dance grooves, a sensation at last year’s Womad.

Refugees for Refugees are musicians from many countries from Syria to Tibet to Pakistan, all now resident in Belgium.

Altin Gün are a Dutch band playing Turkish psychedelic rock.

Duo Botasso, Nicolò and Simone, are in dialogue with sound artist Simone Sims Longo.

Kolida Babo are two Greek duduk players who also incorporate sax and synthesisers.

Lau are the Scottish folk trio - virtuosic, adventurous and experimental.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday April 29th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Os Muiraquitãns: “A Misturada”. From the forthcoming compilation “Jambu e Os Miticos Sons Da Amazonia” (Analog Africa).

2.    Dona Onete: “Carimbo Arrepiado”. Single from forthcoming album “Rebujo” (Mais Um Discos).

3.    Saulo Duarte: “Se Esqueça Não”. From “Avante Delirio” (Sterns 2019).

4.    Sociedade Recreativa: “Maravilha do Pará”. From “Sociativa” (Jarring Effects 2019).

5.    Minyo Crusaders: “Aizubandaisan”. From “Echoes Of Japan” (Mais Um 2019).

6.    De Temps Antan: “JC-JP”.  From “Consolez Vous” (L-A be 2017).

7.    Le Vent du Nord: “Adieu du Village”.  From “Territoires” (Borealis 2019).

8.    Le Vent du Nord & De Temps Antan: “En passant par chez vous - les soeurs du couvent”.  From “Notre Album Solo” (La Compagnie Du Nord 2018).

***De Temps Antan play the Sugar Club on May 1st***

9.    Söndörgö: “Merakolo”.

10.  Söndörgö: “Adardeli’s Ladder”. Both from “Nyolc 8 Nyolc” (Sndrg Music 2019).

11.  Aziz Sahmaoui & the University of Gnawa: “Ganga Sound of Mbirika”.

12.  Aziz Sahmaoui & the University of Gnawa: “Janna Ifrikia”.  Both from “Poetic Trance” (Pias 2019).

13.  Hama Sankaré: “Yer Kur Ti Afo”. From “Niafunke” (Clermont 2019).

14.  BCUC: “Sikhulekile”. From “The Healing” (Buda Musique 2019).

15.  Refugees For Refugees: “Amina”. From “Amina” (Muziekpublique 2019).

16.  Altin Gün: “Ervah-i Ezelde”. From “Gece” (Glitterbeat 2019).

17.  Duo Botasso & Simone Sims Longo: “Autumn II”. From “Biserta e altre storie” (Visage 2018).

18.  Kolida Babo: “Kolida Arabesque”. From “Kolida Babo” (MIC 2019).

19.  Lau: “Riad”. From “Midnight & Closedown” (Reveal 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Ziminino: “Ziminino” (INTL BLK).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. The Gloaming: “The Gloaming 3” (Real World).


5. Refugees for Refugees: “Amina” (Muziekpublique).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Minyo Crusaders: “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


8. Hama Sankaré: “Niafunke” (Clermont).     


9. Coskun Karademir Quartet: “Oz / Essence” (Kalan).


10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Lt. Stitchie: “Jump”. From “Masterclass” (X-Ray Production).

2.  Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Janna Ifrikia”. From “Poetic Trance” (Pias).


3.  Ariwo: “Pyramid”. From “Quasi” (Manana).

4.  Lau: “Echolalia”. From “Midnight & Closedown” (Reveal).

5.  Azymuth: “Juntos Mais uma Vez”. From “Demos (1973-75) Volumes 1&2” (Far Out).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu