Playlist 22.04.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 22.04.2019

On this week's programme:

Jiggy, founded by Robbie Harris, rework Irish tradition for the dancefloor.

Le Vent du Nord and De Temps Antan are two of the leading trad Quebecois bands, the latter visiting Dublin next week.

Lau are the Scottish folk trio - virtuosic, adventurous and experimental.

Ariwo are a quartet of an Iranian electronics and Cuban percussion and trumpet.

Pulo NDJ sprang from DJ Nickodemus’ project with musicians from Chad and sub-Saharan Africa.

Africa Express spent a whirlwind week playing and performing with local artists in Johannesburg.

Ekiti Sound is Lagos/London producer and singer Leke aka CHiF.

Sociedade Recreativa are the Brazilian combination of DJ Maga Bo with the North-Eastern trio Forró de Rebeca.

Altin Gün are a Dutch band playing Turkish psychedelic rock.

Adir Jan sings of gay love and passion in a context of Kurdish rock and dance.

Djeudjoah & Lt Nicholson are a French duo playing afro-funk soul disco.

Samora is from Surinam, based in Amsterdam, and Brother Culture is London-based MC.

Black Roots are a long-running Bristol reggae band, now getting re-released.

Tiken Jah Fakoly is Africa’s big reggae star, from Côte d’Ivoire.

Terry Riley is a pioneer of minimalism, bringing in jazz and Indian elements too. A very influential figure - in the Sugar Club this Thursday 25th.

The Kronos Quartet (great admirers of Terry Riley) provide perfect settings for the vocals of the Iranian Vahdat sisters.

Foremost Azerbaijani singer, Alim Qasimov, duets with the bass horns of Michel Godard.

Waed Bouhassoun is a Syrian oud-player and singer.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday April 22nd. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Jiggy: “Taraka”.

2.    Jiggy: “King of the Fairies”. Both from “Translate” (Big Bang 2017).

3.    Le Vent du Nord & De Temps Antan: “Rose”.

4.    Le Vent du Nord & De Temps Antan: “500 Hommes - Moonbeams”.  Both from “Notre Album Solo” (La Compagnie Du Nord 2018).

***De Temps Antan play the Sugar Club on May 1st***

5.    Lau: “Echolalia”. From “Midnight & Closedown” (Reveal 2019).

6.    Ariwo: “Ireme”. From “Quasi” (Manana 2019).

7.    Pulo NDJ: “Mbaoundaye”. From “Desert To Douala” (Wonderwheel 2019).

8.    Africa Express feat. Infamous Boiz, Morena Leraba, Moonchild Sanelly, Mr Jukes, Zolani Mahola, Remi Kabaka: “Nayena”.

9.    Africa Express feat. Moonchild Sanelly, Otim Alpha, Damon Albarn, Blue May, Georgia, Nick Zinner, BCUC, Blk Jks: “Xhosa”.  Both from the EP “Molo” (Africa Express 2019).

10.  Ekiti Sound: “Miss Dynamite”. From “Abeg No Vex” (Crammed 2019).

11.  Sociedade Recreativa feat. Gata Misteriosa: “Coco Vem Ve”. From “Sociativa” (Jarring Effects 2019).

12.  Altin Gün: “Vay Dünya”. From “Gece” (Glitterbeat 2019).

13.  Adir Jan: “Janaki Mon”. From “Leyla” (Trikont 2019).

14.  Djeuhdjoah & Lieutenant Nicholson: “El Niño”. From “Aimex Ces Airs” (Hot Casa 2019).

15.  Samora & Brother Culture: “Little Green Bag” (Single on Runn Records 2019).

16.  Black Roots: “The Father”. From “With Friends” (Nubian Records 1993/2019).

17.  Tiken Jah Fakoly feat. Soprano: “No No No”. From “Le Monde Est Chaud” (Barclay 2019).

18. Terry Riley: “In C” (excerpt). From “In C” (CBS - vinyl 1971).

***Terry Riley and Gyan Riley play the Sugar Club on Thursday April 25th***

19.  Kronos Quartet & Mahsa and Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless”. From “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

20.  Alim Qasimov & Michel Godard: “Döyme keremi”. From “Awakening” (Buda Musique 2019).

21. Waed Bouhassoun: “Ilahi Nahawand”. From “Safar: Les Âmes Retrouvées” (Buda 2019).

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Ziminino: “Ziminino” (INTL BLK).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. The Gloaming: “The Gloaming 3” (Real World).


5. Las Hermanas Caronni: “Santa Plastica” (Les Grands Fleuves).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Minyo Crusaders: “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


8. Jahcoustix: “Reunion” (Oneness Records).     


9. Coskun Karademir Quartet: “Oz / Essence” (Kalan).


10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Adir Jan: “Keskesor - Rainbow”. From “Leyla” (Trikont).

2.   Samora & Brother Culture: “Little Green Bag” (Single on Runn Records).


3.  Lau: “Echolalia”. From “Midnight & Closedown” (Reveal).

4.  Azymuth: “Juntos Mais uma Vez”. From “Demos (1973-75) Volumes 1&2” (Far Out).

5.  Terry Riley: “In C”. From “In C” (CBS - vinyl 1971).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu