Playlist 16.03.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 16.03.2020

On this week's programme:

Dzambo Agusevi are Macedonian brass ambassadors.

Besh o droM are celebrating 20 years of Hungarian jazz and gypsy music.

The Amsterdam Klezmer Band offer up a new album of Balkan-klezmer intoxication.

Aynur is supreme Kurdish singer from Turkey, no. 1 in the current Transglobal World Music Chart (

Macka B infectiously promotes his vegan lifestyle.

TriXstar is German-Persian reggae singer with a compilation of singles from her 10-year career.

Soraia Drummond is from Bahia in Brazil.

“Satisfaction Feeling” is a deluxe re-release of Dennis Brown’s 1983 album.

Antibalas from New York are pioneers and stalwarts of American afrobeat.

The Awale Jant Band are London-based, playing Senegalese soul-beat.

Aditya Prakesh is a Carnatic singer from Los Angeles in a fusion project.

Natacha Atlas’ new album, in collaboration with Samy Bishai, is a sublime Arabic-jazz fusion.

Gilfema are a trio of Beninois guitarist Lionel Loueke with Massimo Biolcati and Ferenc Nemeth.

Idjah Hadidjah is foremost singer of Javanese music, recorded in the ’80s and now remixed by experimental electronic artists.

Frank Yamma is celebrated Australian roots singer, also with a remix project.

Roberto Fonseca is Cuban piano virtuoso with a myriad of styles.

Tigana Santana is a Bahian singer and poet from Salvador.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday March 16th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Dzambo Agusevi: “Brasses for the Masses”.

2.    Dzambo Agusevi: “Macedonia Nightcrawler”. Both from “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango 2020).

3.    Besh o droM: “Pergeto”. From “Besh o droM 20” (Fonó 2020).

4.    Amsterdam Klezmer Band: “Toni D”. From “Fortuna” (Vetnasj 2020).

5.    Aynur: “Govend E - It’s a Dance”. From “Hedur - Solace of Time” (Aynur 2019).

6.    Macka B: “Cucumba To Di World” (Single on Peckings Records 2020).

7.    TriXstar feat. Skarra Mucci: “Love Nuh Easy”. From “TrixStylez” (Boomrush Productions 2020).

8.    Soraia Drummond: “Siga Em Frente” (Single on House Of Riddim 2020).

9.    Dennis Brown: “No Man Is An Island” (Single on Tad’s Records 2020).

10.  Dennis Brown: “Here I Come”. From “Satisfaction Feeling - Deluxe Edition” (Tad’s Records (1983/2020).

11.  Antibalas: “Lai Lai”. From “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone 2020).

12.  Awale Jant Band: “Domi Adama”. From “Yewoulen / Wake Up” (ARC 2020).

13.  Aditya Prakesh: “Greenwood”. From “Diaspora Kid” (Ropeadope 2020).

14.  Natacha Atlas: “All The Madness”. From “Strange Days” (Whirlwind Recordings 2019).

15.  Gilfema: “Little Wing”.

16.  Gilfema: “Happiness”.  Both from “Three” (Mocloud 2020).

17.  Idjah Hadidjah & Jugala Jaipongan: “Sinyur”.

18.  Bana Haffar: “Slow Hiji Catetan”.  Both from “Jaipongan Music of West Java + Reworks” (Hive Mind 2020).

19.  Frank Yamma: “Tjintu Kutu - Jinku mix”. From “The Kulila Project” (Wantok 2020).

20.  Roberto Fonseca: “Por Ti”. From “Yesun” (Mack Avenue 2019).

21.  Tigana Santana: “Palavra de Honra”. From “Vida - Código” (Ajabu! 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Roberto Fonseca: “Yesun” (Mack Avenue).


2.  Lina & Raül Refree: “Lina_Raül Refree” (Glitterbeat).


3.  Nelia Safaie: “Songs from Lands of Silence” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).


4.  Natacha Atlas: “Strange Days” (Whirlwind).


5.  Aynur: “Hedur - Solace of Time” (Aynur).


6.  Various Artists: “Léve Léve: São Tomé & Principe sounds 70s - 80s” (Bongo Joe).


7.  Yorkston Thorne Khan: “Navarasa: Nine Emotions” (Domino).


8.  Majid Bekkas: “Magic Spirit Quartet” (ACT Music & Vision).


9.  Antibalas: “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone).

10. Sam Lee: “Old Wow” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Cheb Runner feat. Maälem Hicham Bilali: “Yabalini”. From the EP “Tagnawit” (Rebel Up).

2.   Macka B: “Cucumba To Di World” (Single on Peckings Records).

3.   Nordine Staifi: “Zine Ezzinet”. Single from forthcoming compilation “Maghreb K7 Club: “Synth Rai, Chaoui & Staiif 1985-1997” (Bongo Joe).

4.   Dennis Brown: “Satisfaction Feeling (extended version)”. From “Satisfaction Feeling - Deluxe Edition” (Tad’s Records).

5.   Gilfema: “Little Wing”. From “Three” (Mocloud).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu