Playlist 11.05.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 11.05.2020

On this week's programme:

Tony Allen has moved on. He died suddenly in Paris of an aneurism. He, together with Fela Kuti, created a genre of African music which still excites and inspires across the world.
In recent years he collaborated widely, bringing his distinctive drumming style into other genres, notably and recently, his first love - jazz.
The first hour of tonight’s programme looks at the range of the legacy that he left us.

Edikanfo’s album was originally released in their native Accra in 1981, and was produced by Brian Eno.

Groupe RTD’s album will be the first international release from Djibouti in East Africa.

Alkibar Junior are a band from Niakunke in Mali, and their EP was recorded on a mobile phone and sent via WhatsApp.

Ibrahima Cissokho is a Malian afro-rock artist, based in France.

Bantou Mentale are an urban Kinshasa-Paris outfit, led by Liam Farrell, Dr L.

Millie Small, who has died, sang “My boy lollipop”, produced by Chris Blackwell and one of the most successful ska songs ever.

Blakkamoore’s song is about corruption in his hometown of Georgetown, Guyana.

The Jamaican Inna De Yard crew find a few more nuggets in the vault.

Martin Buscaglia is the shape-shifting Uruguayan maverick.

Bebel Gilberto is the daughter of the famous bossa nova singer/guitarist, João.

The Parisian duo, Sambuca, create new arrangements for Brazilian classics.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 11th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Tony Allen: “Crazy Afrobeat”. From “HomeCooking” (Wrasse 2002).

2.    Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Robbers, Thugs and Muggers”. From “Rejoice” (World Circuit 2020).

3.    Tony Allen: “A Night in Tunisia”. From the EP “A Tribute to Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers” (Blue Note 2017).

4.    Fela Kuti: “Roforofo Fight”. From “Roforofo Fight” (Knitting Factory 1972/2013).

5.    Tony Allen: “Ole”. From “Lagos No Shaking” (Honest Jon’s 2006).

6.    Tony Allen: “Koko Dance”. From “Film Of Life” (Jazz Village 2014).

7.    Oumou Sangare feat. Tony Allen: “Yere Faga”. From “Mogoya” (No Format! 2017).

8.    Moritz von Oswald Trio: “Sounding Line 1”. From “Sounding Lines” (Honest Jon’s 2015).

9.    Jimi Tenor & Tony Allen: “Selfish Gene”. From “Inspiration Information 4 - Jimi Tenor & Tony Allen” (Strut 2009).

10.  Tony Allen feat. Damon Albarn: “Go Back”. From “Film Of Life” (Jazz Village 2014).


11.  Edikanfo: “Nka Bom”. From “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat 1981/2020).

12.  Groupe RTD: “Halkaasad Dhigi Magtiisa / That’s Where You’ll Leave His Reward”. From “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (forthcoming on Ostinato).

13.  Alkibar Junior: “Soukabe Mali”. From the EP “Saharan WhatsApp 04 - Alkibar Junior” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

14.  Ibrahima Cissokho & Le Mandingue Foly: “Mbading”. From “Liberté Mom Sa Bop” (Nordic Notes 2020).

15.  Bantou Mentale: “Bantou Drive”. From the EP “Mentale Zombie” (Glitterbeat 2020).

16.  Millie: “My Boy Lollipop”…… I can’t remember which compilation I took this from!

17.  Jahdan Blakkamoore: “Mash Down Georgetown”. Single From the album “Upward Spiral” (Baco Records 2020).

18.  Inna De Yard feat. Horace Andy: “Skylarking”. From the EP “Rare Bonus Tracks” (Chapter Two 2020).

19.  Martin Buscaglia: “Mírennos Bailar”. From “Basta De Musica” (Lovemonk 2020).

20.  Bebel Gilberto: “Raio”. From “Agora” (Pias 2020).

21.  Sambuca: “Luz Negra”. From “Luz” (Prodastar/InOuie 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Deep Cabaret: “Matchless” (Self-published).


2.  Santrofi: “Alewa” (Out Here).


3.  Trio Tekke: “Strovilos” (Riverboat / World Music Network).


4.  Edikanfo: “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat).


5.  Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn: “Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn” (Smithsonian Folkways).


6.  Džambo Aguševi Orchestra: “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango).


7.  Jola: “Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels” (Muziekpublique).


8.  Tamikrest: “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).


9.  Andrew Cronshaw: “Zithers” (Cloud Valley).

10. Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Rejoice” (World Circuit).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Džambo Aguševi Orchestra: “Old Bazaar Groove”. From “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango).

2.   Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same). From “Rejoice” (World Circuit).

3.   Transglobal Underground: “Stand Up (Nifhamou)”. From “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite).

4.   Bab L’Bluz: “Ila Mata”. From forthcoming album “Nayda!” (Real World).

5.   Maura Guerrera & Malik Ziad: “Ramu Vecchiu”. From “Spartenza” (Radicimusic).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu