Playlist 10.05.2021

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 10.05.2021

On this week's programme:

The Mamaki Boys are a hiphop group from Niger who issued their CD-R album back in 2007.

Ayuune Sule is a leading kologo player from northern Ghana.

“Comorian” is music from the Comores Islands recorded in the field by Ian Brennan.

San Salvador are stentorian Occitan voices from France with hand-held percussion.

Alena Murang is a singer from Borneo, based in Kuala Lumpur, and singing in endangered languages.

Dagadana are a Polish-Ukrainian band combining the traditional and the contemporary since 2008.

The Club Coco compilation is the selection of Mexican DJ Coco Maria.

Brazilian maverick Lucas Santtana unleashes his 2006 “Greenhouse” improvisational dubby grooves, remastered by Pole.

Chicago visual artist and DJ Damon Locks produces a lockdown album of solidarity and resistance.

French duo Brain Damage provide some cool settings for veteran Jamaican DJ-toaster Big Youth.

Radio Tutti & Barilla Sisters play the music of Galicia and Southern Europe.

Olcay Bayir is a Kurdish singer from Turkey, long based in London.

L’Alba hail from Corsica with influences from both sides of the Mediterranean.

Paolo Angeli is a Sardinian guitarist and composer, using prepared guitar, electronics and throat-singing.

Howie Lee is a Beijing producer and electronic artist with birdsong and choir.

Toumani Diabaté and his colleagues take on the London Symphony Orchestra circa 2008.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 10th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Mamaki Boys: “Kagani Kagani”. Single from forthcoming album “Patriote” (Sahel Sounds).

2.Ayuune Sule: “Yaaba Waane”. From “Putoo Katare Yire” (Rebel Up 2021).

3.Comorian: “Salvation”. From “We Are An Island But We’re Not Alone” (Glitterbeat 2021).

4.San Salvador: “La fin de la guerra”. From “La Grande Folie” (La Grande Folie/Pagans/MDC 2021).

5.Alena Murang: “We watched the clouds”. From “Sky Songs” (Wind Music International Corporation 2021).

6.Dagadana: “To you Kathy”. From “Tobie” (Agora Muzyka 2021).

7.Nico Mauskovic: “A big brain”. From the forthcoming compilation “Club Coco” (Bongo Joe).

8.Lucas Santtana: “Deixe O Sol Bater”.

9.Lucas Santtana: “Pela Orla Dos Velhos Tempos”. Both from “3 Sessions In A Greenhouse” (Mais Um 2021).

10.Damon Locks & Black Monument Ensemble: “The body is electric”. From “Now” (International Anthem 2021).

11.Brain Damage meets Big Youth: “2020 I Pray Thee”. Single from forthcoming album “Beyond the Blue” (Jarring Effects).

12. Radio Tutti & Barilla Sisters: “Rumba Morena”. From “Xogo” (Lamastrock 2021).

13.Olcay Bayir: “Ela”. From the EP “Icerde/Inside” (Dream 2021).

14.L’Alba: “So diventatu”.

15.L’Alba: “Schjari u to chjassu”.Both from “À Principiu” (Buda Musique 2021).

16.Paolo Angeli: “Sulu”. From “Jar’a” (AnMa ReR Megacorp 2021).

17.Howie Lee: “Time to the Sun”.

18.Howie Lee: “Birdy Island”. Both from “Birdy Island” (Mais Um 2021).

19.Toumani Diabaté & London Symphony Orchestra: “Mamadou Kanda Keita”.

20.Toumani Diabaté & London Symphony Orchestra: “Cantelowes Dream”.Both from “Korolen” (World Circuit 2021).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Lucas Santtana: “3 Sessions In A Greenhouse” (Mais Um).

2.Paolo Angeli: “Jar’a” (AnMa ReR Megacorp).

3.Kady Diarra: “Burkina Hakili” (Lamastrock).

4.Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi: “They’re Calling Me Home” (Nonesuch).

5.Toumani Diabaté and the London Symphony Orchestra: “Korolen” (World Circuit).

6.Ballaké Sissoko: “Djourou” (No Format!).

7.Kasai Allstars: “Black Ants Always Fly Together, One Bangle Makes No Sound” (Crammed).

8.Piers Faccini: “Shapes Of The Fall” (No Format!).

9.San Salvador: “La Grande Folie” (La Grand Foli/Pagans/MDC).

10. Various Artists: “Industrial Strength Bluegrass” (Smithsonian Folkways).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.Tony Allen feat. Ben Okri & Skepta: “Cosmosis”. From “There’s No End” (Blue Note).

2.Elektro Hafiz: “Disko Hafiza” (Single on Ironhand Records).

3.Brain Damage meets Big Youth: “2020 I Pray Thee”. Single from forthcoming album “Beyond the Blue” (Jarring Effects).

4.MNTH: “Tamamduatei”. From “MNTH” (Mais Um).

5.jaimie branch: “Prayer for Amerikkka”. Single from the forthcoming album “FLY or DIE Live” (International Anthem).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu