Playlist 08.04.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 08.04.2019

On this week's programme:

Starting with some Latin - inna hiphop vein - from Barcelona’s Lágrimas De Sangre, and Argentinian La Yegros who is appearing at La Linea Festival in London.

The reggae session includes Jahcoustix, aka Dominik Haas, on his eighth album, and singles from Cali P & Teka, Koffee, and Alborosie.

Antibalas celebrate 20 years of Afrobeat operations and take over the Sugar Club for 2 nights at Easter.

Altin Gün are a Dutch band who play Turkish psychedelia!

Olcay Bayir is a classically trained singer from Anatolia, and Coskun Karademir, folklore academic, archivist, and musical director, is from the same region.

The Minyo Crusaders are a Japanese band doing an irresistible line in cumbia and reggae.

Sociedade Recreativa are the combination of Brazilian DJ producer Maga Bo and north-eastern trio Forró de Rebeca.

Ziminino are Rio de Janeiro artist Ricô Santana with producers Rafa Dias and Boima Tucker.

The veteran Jamaican Inna de Yard collective remake some classic reggae hits of yesteryear.

Waed Bouhassoun is a Syrian oud-player and singer.

The Kronos Quartet provide stirring context for the Iranian songs of the Vahdat sisters.

Las Hermanas Caronni are sisters from Argentina, resident in France, with Piers Faccini guesting.

Don the Tiger, aka Adrián de Alfonso, is an experimental artist from Barcelona via Berlin.

Kolida Babo is a trio involving two Greek duduk players who add sax and synths to the mix.

Labelle is an electronic musician from La Réunion.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday April 8th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Lágrimas De Sangre: “Salsa Boloñesa” (Single on Vértigo 2018).

2.    La Yegros feat. Soon T: “Tenemos Voz”. From “Suelta” (Canta La Selva / X-Ray 2019).

3.    Cali P & Teka: “Baddest” (Single on Low Low Records 2018).

4.    Koffee: “Throne” (Single on Columbia 2019).

5.    Jahcoustix: “Live Your Dream”. From “Reunion” (Oneness 2019).

6.    Alborosie feat. Chronixx: “Contradiction” (Single on Greensleeves 2018).

7.   Antibalas: “Gold Rush”. From “Where The Gods Are In Peace” (Daptone 2017).

***Antibalas play the Sugar Club on Sat 20th and Sun 21st April***

8.   Altin Gün: “Anlatmam Derdimi”. From “Gece” (forthcoming on Glitterbeat).

9.   Olcay Bayir: “Uzun Ince Bir Yoldayim”. From “Rüya - Dream For Anatolia” (ARC 2019).

10.  Coskun Karademir Quartet: “Yayla / Mountain Meadow”. From “Oz / Essence” (Kalan 2018).

11.  Minyo Crusaders: “Tango Bushi”. From “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos 2019).

12.  Sociedade Recreativa: “Capoareia”. From “Sociativa” (Jarring Effects 2019).

13.  Ziminino: “Intermitencia”. From “Zimino” (INTL BLK 2019).

14.  Winston McAnuff: “Malcolm X”.

15.  Horace Andy: “Ain’t No Sunshine”. Both from “Inna De Yard” (Wagram/Chapter Two 2019).

16.  Waed Bouhassoun: “Je dors le coeur blessé”. From “Safar: Les Âmes Retrouvées” (Buda 2019).

17.  Kronos Quartet with Mahsa and Marjan Vahdat: “The Sun Rises”. From “Placeless”  (Kirkelig Kulturverksted 2019).

18.  Las Hermanas Caronni: “Breathe”. From “Santa Plastica” (Les Grands Fleuves 2019).

19.  Don The Tiger: “Cantos Al Aral Menguante”. From “Matanazas” (Crammed 2018).

20.  Kolida Babo: “Exodus”. From “Kolida Babo” (MIC 2019).

21.  Labelle: “Emotion du Vide”. From “Orchestra Univers” (InFiné 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Ziminino: “Ziminino” (INTL BLK).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. The Gloaming: “The Gloaming 3” (Real World).


5. Las Hermanas Caronni: “Santa Plastica” (Les Grands Fleuves).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Bâton Bleu: “Weird and Wonderful Tales” (Dixiefrog).


8. Jahcoustix: “Reunion” (Oneness Records).     


9. Coskun Karademir Quartet: “Oz / Essence” (Kalan).

10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Cali P & Teka: “Baddest” (Single on LowLow Records).

2.  Minyo Crusaders: “Tango Bushi”. From “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


3.  [dunkelbunt] feat. Anuradha Genrich: “Velavan”. Single release ([dunkelbunt].

4.  Africa Express feat. Phuzekhemisi, Gruff Rhys, Muzi, BCUC: “Vessels”. From the EP “Molo” (Africa Express).

5.  Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Mama’s Cryin’ Long”. From “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu