Playlist 06.05.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 06.05.2019

On this week's programme:

Lt. Stitchie is a veteran of the Jamaican dancehall scene, whereas TriXstar is Iranian-born German resident.

BCUC are the Soweto collective mixing soul, township and dance grooves - a sensation at last year’s Womad.

Aziz Sahmaoui is Moroccan-born ngoni and gimbri musician with a distinguished history with Orchestra National de Barbès and Joe Zawinul.

Altin Gün are a Dutch band playing Turkish psychedelic rock.

Black Flower are a Belgian five-piece with Afro-funk and Ethio-Soul influences.

Ariwo are the combination of an Iranian electronic musician and three London-based Cubans.

Sexteto Tabalá are a Colombian group with a Cuban-Caribbean repertoire.

Tara Tiba is an Iranian singer who relocated to Australia and recorded in Madrid.


Refugees for Refugees are musicians from many countries from Syria to Tibet to Pakistan, all now resident in Belgium.

Olcay Bayir is a singer from Anatolia, resident in London.

Tiken Jah Fakoly is Africa’s premier reggae artist, from Côte D’Ivoire.

There is a reissue programme underway for the catalogue of Bristol’s Black Roots reggae band.

Azymuth are jazz-funk veterans from Brazil and some early recordings have been unearthed.

Minyo Crusaders are a Japanese outfit with a neat, infectious line in Latin and Caribbean rhythms.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 6th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Lt. Stitchie: “Jump”. From “Masterclass” (X-Ray Productions 2019).

2.    TriXstar & Skarra Mucci: “Cyant Get”. (Single on Boomrush Productions 2019).

3.    BCUC: “The Journey with Mr Van Der Merwe”. From “The Healing” (Buda Musique 2019).

4.    Aziz Sahmaoui & the University of Gnawa: “Soudani ya yémma”. From “Poetic Trance” (Pias 2019).

5.    Altin Gün: “Yolcu”. From “Gece” (Glitterbeat 2019).

6.    Black Flower: “Future Flora”. From “Future Flora” (Sdban Ultra 2019).

7.    Ariwo: “Pyramid”. From “Quasi” (Manana 2019).

8.    Sexteto Tabalá: “Eso no es ná”. (EP on Palenque Records 2019).

9.    Tara Tiba: “Shaneh (Bint El Shalabia)”. From “Omid” (Tara Tiba /Cezanne Producciones 2019).

10.  Refugees For Refugees: “Rose Gate”. From “Amina” (Muziekpublique 2019).

11.  Olcay Bayir: “Ferze”. From “Dream for Anatolia” (ARC 2019).

12.  Tiken Jah Fakoly: “Écologie”. From “Le Monde Est Chaud” (Barclay / Wrasse 2019).

13.  Black Roots feat. Dub Judah: “Tribal War”. From “Black Roots…. With Friends” (Nubian 1993/2019).

14.  Jahdan  Blakkamoore: “Play The Roll”. From the One Riddim sampler “Big Slap Riddim” (Baco 2019).

15.  Azymuth: “Juntos Mais uma Vez”. From “Demos (1973-75) Volumes 1&2” (forthcoming on Far Out).

16.  Minyo Crusaders: “Yusugi Bushi”. From “Echoes Of Japan” (Mais Um 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Altin Gün: “Gece” (Glitterbeat).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Poetic Trance” (Pias).


5. Refugees for Refugees: “Amina” (Muziekpublique).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Minyo Crusaders: “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


8. Hama Sankaré: “Niafunke” (Clermont).     


9. Tiken Jah Fakoly: “Le Monde Est Chaud” (Barclay / Wrasse).


10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Black Flower: “Future Flora”. From “Future Flora” (Sdban Ultra).

2.  Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Janna Ifrikia”. From “Poetic Trance” (Pias).


3.  Ariwo: “Pyramid”. From “Quasi” (Manana).

4.  Chris Brokaw: “Our Fathers”. From “End Of The Night” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).

5.  Chuck Johnson: “Moonstone”. From “Balsams” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu