Playlist 04.05.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 04.05.2020

On this week's programme:

Tony Allen has suddenly left us. Too late for this week’s recording  but a proper tribute coming next week.

Islandman are a Turkish trio of electronics and live instrumentation.

Jneiro Jarel is Brooklyn-born nomad with many high-profile collaborations.

“Intenta” is a collection of Swiss music from the electronic and experimental boom years.

The Iyatra Quartet situate themselves between classical, world and jazz musics.

Both Eleonora Bordonaro and Matilde Politi explore Sicilian tradition from unusual angles, while Maura Guerrera brings in North African styles.

Jola is a collective of Gnawa musicians from Brussels, the Gnawa capital of Europe.

The Maghreb K7 Club was a hotbed of North African music in Lyon back in the day.

TootArd are a duo from the Golan Heights with a second album coming shortly.

Groupe RTD’s album will be the first international release from Djibouti.

Mulatu Astatke, Ethio-jazz master, joins forces with Melbourne’s Ethio finest.

Waaju are an afro-jazz outfit from London.

Damily is tsapiky guitarist from Madagascar.

CPL records are issuing a 2-CD set of contemporary Russian trad-rooted sounds.

Tyva Kyzy are the only all-female overtone-voice band from Tuva.

Vedan Kolod are a Siberian trio with roots in traditional and shamanic music.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 4th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Tony Allen: “Moving On”. From “Film Of Life” (Jazz Village 2014).

2.    Islandman: “Shu!”. From “Kaybola” (Music For Dreams 2020).

3.    Jneiro Jarel feat. : “Cascara platano / Banana peel”. Single from forthcoming album “After A Thousand Years” (Far Out).

4.    Fizzè: “Kulu Hatha Mamnua”. From the compilation “Experimental and Electronic Music from Switzerland 1981-93” (Bongo Joe 2020).

5.    Iyatra Quartet: “Chandra”. From “Break The Dawn” (ARC 2020).

6.    Eleonora Bordonaro: “Cunurtatu”. From “Moviti Ferma” (Finisterre 2020).

7.    Matilde Politi: “Gruttisa”. From “Viva Santa Liberata” (Felmay 2020).

8.    Maura Guerrera & Malik Ziad: “A Pisera”. From “Spartenza” (Radicimusic 2020).

9.    Jola: “L Bnat”. From “Hidden Gnawa Music In Brussels” (Muziekpublique 2020).

10.  Salah El Annabi:  “Hata Fl Annaba”: From the compilation “Maghreb K7 Club 1985-1997” (Bongo Joe 2020).

11.  TootArd: “Trouble Watan”. From “Migrant Birds” (forthcoming on Glitterbeat).

12.  Groupe RTD: “Buuraka U Dheer / The Highest Mountain”. From “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (forthcoming on Ostinato).

13.  Mulata Astatke & The Black Jesus Experience: “Kulun Mankwaleshi” (Single from forthcoming album on Agogo).

14.  Waaju: “Listening Glasses”. From forthcoming album “Grown” (Olindo).

15.  Damily: “Zabo Va”. From “Damily - Early Years: Madagascar Cassette Archives” (Bongo Joe 2020).

16.  Radik Tulush: “Agitator”. From the compilation “Folk and Great Tunes from Russia” (CPL Music 2020).

17.  Tyva Kyzy: “Borbak karam bodu bodaar”. From “Ayalgalar - Melodies” (Pan 2020).

18.  Vedan Kolod: “Prosinets”.

19.  Vedan Kolod: “Vorozheya”. Both from “Wolf’s Path” (FireStorm Productions 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Deep Cabaret: “Matchless” (Self-published).


2.  Santrofi: “Alewa” (Out Here).


3.  Nelia Safaie: “Songs from Lands of Silence” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).


4.  Edikanfo: “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat).


5.  Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn: “Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn” (Smithsonian Folkways).


6.  Ranil y su Conjunto Tropical: “ Ranil y su Conjunto Tropical: Iquitos-Amazonia-Peru” (Analog Africa).


7.  Jola: “Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels” (Muziekpublique).


8.  Tamikrest: “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).


9.  Andrew Cronshaw: “Zithers” (Cloud Valley).

10. John McLaughlin, Shankar Mahadevan, Zakir Hussain: “Is That So?” (Abstract L

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Tony Allen: “Crazy Afrobeat”. From “HomeCooking” (Wrasse).

2.   Tony Allen: “Losun”. From “Lagos No Shaking” (Honest Jon’s).

3.   Tony Allen: “Get Together”. From “Black Voices” (Comet).

4.   Jimi Tenor & Tony Allen: “Selfish Gene”. From “Inspiration Information” (Strut).

5.   Tony Allen feat. Damon Albarn: “Go Back”. From “Film of Life” (Jazz Village).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu